Legacy Awards

Dale Riggins Humanitarian Award

Shepard Convention Services introduced the Dale Riggins Humanitarian Award in 1994 as a tribute to, and in memory of, its valued employee, Dale Riggins, who made great contributions to the special event industry. This Prestigious honor is awarded each year to an individual who donates time, talent, effort and expertise to community services both within our industry and in our community. The recipients of the award are among the most honored luminaries in our industry.

Consider for a moment the individuals who truly “make a difference” to those in need and whose effects give the Atlanta special events industry its true impact and high profile. Please take time to nominate someone in our industry whom you feel is worthy of this honor. Nominees should be of high moral and ethical stature and exhibit outstanding professionalism in their service to the special events industry and the community at large. The winner will be selected by the Allie Awards Board of Directors and presented at the Allie Awards.

2019 Humanitarian Award Recipient, Myrna Antar
2019 Rising Star Recipient: Kristina Cherry

Tim Lundy, CSEP - Rising Star Award

At the 21st anniversary of the Allie Awards we remembered the entrepreneurial spirit of the team that created the Allies, in particular its founder, Tim Lundy, CSEP. The spirit and intent of this award is designed to honor, recognize,encourage and inspire a young event professional toward his/her greatest potential in the special events industry. Nominees shall:

  • Be within their first five years in the special events industry
  • Be actively involved in the Atlanta events industry and association community
  • Have exhibited innovation and leadership and made an impact on their company
  • Have clear potential to grow into more responsibility in their company, association organization and the community at large.

Bob Blaesing, CSEP - Lifetime Achievement Award

A Lifetime Achievement Award was established in the first year of the Allie Awards to honor individuals in our industry who have made a mark in Atlanta’s events community over their career. Past recipients are event professionals for 20 years or more who are well known for their contributions to the special events industry.

The title “Lifetime Achievement Award” implies a long period of time, and while honoring longevity is good, the key word is “Achievement.”  We chose in 2004 to honor the late Bob Blaesing, CSEP, co-founder of Experience By Design, by renaming the award “The Bob Blaesing, CSEP, Lifetime Achievement Award.” Bob was a visionary whose philosophy exemplifies what we honor with the Lifetime Achievement Award: nurturing those around us through education; pursuit of ethical and professional behavior throughout the industry; and commitment to the growth of Special Events. May his spirit live in those who are honored with this award.

Nominees are put forward by the Allies Awards Night Board of Directors. Nominatees will be individuals who have made an impact in the Atlanta events community over the course of their career, through innovation, dedication and achievement. The winner will be selected by the Allie Awards Board of Directors and presented at the Allie Awards.

2019 Lifetime Achievement Recipient: Michele Lend

History of Past Recipients

2020Roy ArriagaJacqueline VizcainoSharon Hochdorf
2019Myrna AntarKristina CherryMichele Lend
2018Kelly SminkGillian MartoJeff Terry
2017---John ScrogginsSteve Bales
2016Dee Lane Eades, CPCETasha JacksonTeresa Day
2015Sharon HochdorfJulie Anne NeillDan Nolan III
2014Jeff TerryLevi BulkleyBarbara Roos
2013Denise RindsbergSheena KogerTony Conway, CSEP, CMP
2012Qualena Odom-Royes, CSEP, CMPSarah AckermanJ. Wilbur Smith
2011Dionne Battle, CSEPLeah Stephens EconomosWalt Nemeth, CPCE
2010Margie DietzMichael ShoerBrenda Maynard
2009Dan Nolan III---Dennis Smith
2008Brenda Maynard---Doc Waldrop
2007Matt Clouser---Gayle Skelton, CPCE
2006Greg Snow---Kendall Collier, CPCE
2005Dennis Smith---Terry Singleton, CSEP
2004Doc Waldrop---Shelley Pedersen, CPCE
2003Terry Singleton, CSEP------
2002------Bob Blessing, CSEP
2001J. Wilbur Smith---Tim Lundy, CSEP
2000Tina DeRenzis------
1999Bob Blessing, CSEP---Suzanne Stedman
1998Erik Magnusson---Ron Lazarus & Scott Ardolino
1997Robert Griggs------
1996Tony Conway, CSEP---Klaus Inkamp, CSEP
1995Tim Lundy, CSEP---Bob Hansel
1994Dale Riggens------
1993------Robert Griggs
1992------Mary Jordan
1991------Helen Roberts